in ,

What is the Dukan diet?

How is the Dukan diet done, what are its stages?

The Dukan diet originated in the book “Je ne sais pas maigrir” (I don’t know how to lose weight) by the well-known nutritionist of France, Dr. Pierre Dukan. So what is the Dukan diet, how is it done and what are its stages? Here is everything you wonder about the Dukan diet …

The extremely popular Dukan diet is a diet that has stages and provides a healthy and permanent weight loss as a result of progressing according to stages.

A protein and fat-based diet is applied. The amount of calories the body spends to burn protein increases and weight loss occurs rapidly.


The Dukan diet, which consists of four stages, must be applied correctly and in sequence. In the Dukan diet, foods such as red meat, white meat, seafood, vegetables, milk and cheese varieties are consumed.


The first phase, the attack (attack) phase, can last up to 10 days. During this phase, protein intake takes place. Foods such as lean beef, fish, ham, eggs and milk should be consumed in abundance. The important thing is to be getting pure protein without fat. You can get these types of pure protein at any time of the day. Only oatmeal consumption is permitted and carbohydrates are completely prohibited. In the first stage, a weight loss of 2 to 7 kilos occurs.

Foods that can be consumed during the attack phase,

Beef, beef

White meat chicken, turkey meat (skinless)

Beef, veal liver

All fresh fish can be consumed except fish kept in canned food.

1.5 tablespoons of oat bran

Sea creatures

Egg (2 in 1 day)

Low-fat milk and dairy products

(At this stage, mutton is strictly prohibited)


In the second step, pure protein consumption is continued. However, vegetables are added to the diet gradually. Corn, potatoes, peas, beans and lentils such as carbohydrate should not be consumed. At this stage, this stage should be continued for 3 days for every 1 kilo you want to lose.

Foods that can be consumed during the cruise phase;

Celery, tomatoes, mushrooms, green beans, onions, leeks, garlic, zucchini, turnips,

2 tablespoons of oat bran per day (mandatory)

Spinach, lettuce, other green leafy vegetables, broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage

Bell pepper, Asparagus, Artichoke, Eggplant, Cucumber,

(No oil is allowed except 1 teaspoon of oil.)


Regaining the weight lost after diet is a common situation. At this stage, the aim is not to regain the weight lost and to maintain weight. This strengthening phase is continued for 5 days for every 1 kilo lost during the cruise phase. In other words, if you have lost 10 kilos during the cruise, you need to continue for 50 days in the strengthening phase. At this stage, protein and vegetables can be taken together.

Foods that can be consumed in the Fortification Phase;

Meat (lamb 1-2 times a week)

Celebration meal (twice a week, appetizer, main course, dessert)

Protein day (only protein foods 1 day a week)

Oat bran (2.5 tablespoons daily required)

1 portion of fruit a day

Bread (2 slices of whole wheat bread a day)

Cheese (one serving per day)


At this stage, at least 20 minutes of daily walks are required. It is forbidden to eat anything other than pure protein once a week. 3 tablespoons of oatmeal is consumed every day. The fourth stage, the Protection stage, is the stage that will be continued for life.

What should you pay attention to in the Protection Phase;

You can eat up to 3 tablespoons of oat bran each day.

You should walk for at least 20 minutes every day.

You should only consume protein as in the diet program 1 day a week.

Written by Maraaz

Michelin star chef Ahmet Dede

Attention test; Find the difference between the couples?