in , ,

Klopp ‘shocked’ after award

Jürgen Klopp, who led Liverpool to the championship last season in the Premier League, won the FIFA Coach of the Year award, beating Hansi Flick and Marcelo Bielsa.

Jürgen Klopp received the FIFA Best Men’s Coach award for the second time. The German coach, who led Liverpool to the Premier League championship 30 years later, received the most votes from fans, journalists, national team coaches and captains.

Candidates included Hansi Flick, who won the Bundesliga, Champions League and DFB Cup victories with Bayern Munich, and Marcelo Bielsa, who moved Leeds United to the Premier League after 16 years.

The 53-year-old coach could not hide his astonishment after winning the award: “I was shocked. I was thinking that I am sitting here because I won last year. Thank you very much, wow … There are so many people to thank. If I knew we won, my team would be here with me.”

Liverpool triumphed just one point behind Manchester City’s all-time point record (100) last season. The Reds, champions of the previous year’s Champions League, were eliminated by Atletico Madrid in the last 16 rounds last season.

Written by Maraaz

Sheffield United 2-3 Manchester United Match Result

The story of Dr Carina Tyrrell